What if there was high-speed wireless everywhere?

Or at least, everywhere I am. For example, in the home, in the office, in the car, in the cafe. Frankly 3 out of those 4 are already taken care of. The next step is to hook wireless into satellite, so I can get it in my car. Once that’s there, why would I need to use a PDA? I’m better off with a laptop, or just relying on the occasional terminal. What do I want to do on the road anyway? Send email. Check email. Check essential data (hotel #, flight times).

I get a laugh out of the notion of Blackberry model of email. Push email? This is hardly a revolution. It’s essentially Outlook on your phone. What’s so important about it? I could write a web app for a phone that would check my Gmail account every 5 minutes for emails and then alert me, automatically go to the site. And I wouldn’t have to pay for “data services” from the cell company.

I do agree that the form factor and usability of the phone seems pretty high. If you can get all those technophobes on Bay St. hooked, you must be doing something right.

Published in: on November 9, 2006 at 8:47 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cleerly.wordpress.com/2006/11/09/what-if-there-was-high-speed-wireless-everywhere/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

